Skip to main content

Research Mentoring Awards

Awards on campus for mentoring for faculty or researchers

FSU Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor Award

  • Award Website:;
  • Award Description: Sponsored annually by the Graduate School this award honors faculty mentors whose dedication to graduate students and commitment to excellence in graduate education and mentoring have made a significant contribution to the quality of life and professional development of graduate students at Florida State University. Recipients shall have demonstrated outstanding mentoring practices and an overall commitment to graduate education at Florida State University.
  • Application Deadline: Awards will be given each academic year to up to five individual mentors of master’s and/or doctoral students. The awards will be presented at the Faculty Awards Ceremony held in Spring 2020 and will include a $3,000 award for each faculty mentor winner.


FSU Undergraduate Research Mentor Award

  • Site:
  • Description: Reserved each year for a faculty research mentor participating in the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program (UROP). The $2,000 award is funded by the FSU Office of Research and presented at the annual FSU faculty awards dinner. One graduate student and one postdoctoral researcher are also selected for a $500 annual award for recognition of excellence in undergraduate research mentoring.
    There is the Undergraduate Faculty Research Mentor Award, Post-Doc Undergraduate Research Mentor Award, and the Graduate Student Undergraduate Research Mentor Award.

Honors Thesis Mentor Award

  • Site:
  • Description: This award is offered annually to recognize and honor faculty members whose direction and advisement of undergraduate honors thesis research or creative activity has significantly contributed to the enhancement and quality of education of undergraduate students at Florida State University.
  • Deadline: Sometime in the Spring Semester


National Awards for Mentoring for Faculty Researchers

The AAAS Mentor Awards

  • Site:
  • Description: The two categories of the AAAS Mentor Awards (Lifetime Mentor Award and Mentor Award) both honor individuals who during their careers demonstrate extraordinary leadership to increase the participation of underrepresented groups in science and engineering fields and careers. These groups include: women of all racial or ethnic groups; African American, Native American, and Hispanic men; and people with disabilities. Both awards recognize an individual who has mentored and guided significant numbers of students from underrepresented groups to the completion of doctoral studies or who has impacted the climate of a department, college, or institution to significantly increase the diversity of students pursuing and completing doctoral studies. It is important to indicate in the nomination materials how the nominee’s work resulted in departmental and/or institutional change in terms of the granting of PhDs to underrepresented students. This can be documented not only with quantitative data, but may also be demonstrated through the student and colleague letters of support.
    • Lifetime Mentor Award: A prize of $5,000 will be awarded. This individual will have served in the role of mentor for 25 or more years.
    • Mentor Award: A prize of $5,000 will be awarded. This individual will have served in the role of mentor for less than 25 years.