Skip to main content

Frequently Asked Questions


What’s the difference between Collaborative Collision and Connector?

Connector is the first event in the Collaborative Collision program. Previously, Collaborative Collision was a singular event, but now refers to the entire program consisting of Connector, Incubator, and Accelerator.

Who should participate in the Collaborative Collision program?

Collaborative Collision is primarily designed to bring together active researchers at FSU, as well as individuals working on programs that could benefit, or benefit from, connections with research programs. We typically consider this to include tenure-track and research faculty, post-docs, programmatic implementation staff, and specialized and teaching faculty. We also welcome research support and development staff, university administrators, and graduate students as observers at our Connector and Accelerator events. Undergraduate students may attend only if accompanying a faculty member.

Can Graduate Students participate?

Unfortunately, right now Collaborative Collision is only open to faculty, staff, and post-docs. However, if your advisor or another faculty member is participating and they’d like to bring you along as part of their team, that would be ok. Please just have them register, and then email Mike Mitchell saying that they’d like to bring you as well.

How often will Collaborative Collision 2.0 occur?

Each series (Connector, Incubator, Accelerator) will occur once each Spring and Fall semester. The program is timed to start and end with the academic calendar. Connector and Accelerator are singular events, and Incubator is a 10-week series with meetings as often as your team and guide decide are necessary.

How do I sign up?

Participants sign up for Connector and Incubator separately, and both are open to all members of the FSU research community.  The Accelerator pitch event is open to the entire FSU community as well as the greater Tallahassee community. Registration will open approximately one month prior to the fall and spring semesters for Connector, during the Connector event for Incubator, and registration is not required for Accelerator.

Who is eligible to compete for the Accelerator award?

Only teams that complete the  Incubator series may compete for the Accelerator award. Please note that the Principal Investigator for an Accelerator team must be a tenure-track or research faculty.

Will the Incubator sessions be the same each time?

Not necessarily. Incubator is a pilot program, and we will actively evaluate its success after each series. However, you’ll know the topics for each session prior to signing up for the Incubator.

Is Collaborative Collision always online?

The Collaborative Collision program was envisioned as an in-person event, and we have adapted it for virtual delivery during the COVID-19 pandemic. We intend to transition to a hybrid in-person/virtual model as conditions improve.