Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Advanced eSPEAR Courses
Fall 2020 Schedule

To register, follow these steps:

  1. Login to the myFSU portal
  2. Select 'Human Resources' from left-hand myFSU Links drop down menu
  3. Click on the 'Request Training Enrollment' link
  4. Choose one of the search methods below to find a course session
  • Search by Course Name
  • Search by Course Number
  • Search by Location
  • Search by Date

To cancel registration, call the Office of Training and Organizational Development at 850.644.8724.

Course #

Course Name

Description

Instructor (s)

Contact Information

Fall 2020 Schedule

ESP11

Finding Funding for Your Project

Participants will learn about the different search engines available for use and will guide you through a search process demonstration.

Rachel Goff-Albritton

r.goffalbritton@fsu.edu 11/4/2020
  2:00 - 4:00 pm
ESP12 Export Control and Conflict of Interest

An overview of the laws used to regulate the dissemination of material to foreign persons/nations/nationals through export controls and conflict of interest policies and procedures that relate to different funding agencies.

Diana Key

dkey@fsu.edu

12/11/2020
10:00 - 11:00 am

ESP13 Human Subjects

To protect the welfare of human subject participants, federal regulations give authority to the Institutional Review Board to oversee the welfare of human subject participants. This class will discuss the federal and university regulations and policy and procedures that must be adhered to in order to protect them.

T. Howard Stone

thstone@fsu.edu

10/20/2020
2:00 - 4:00 pm

ESP14

Animal Care

In order for Researchers to use animals on sponsored projects they must adhere to specific federal and university regulations, policies and procedures. This session will cover the history, laws and Federal oversight as well as FSU's policies and procedures.

Kathleen Harper kharper@fsu.edu

11/18/2020
2:00 - 4:00 pm

ESP15

Intellectual Property

While the PI is conducting research, it may become imperative that the necessary steps be taken to safeguard the research results/ findings. This session will provide an in-depth look at the definitions, laws, Federal insight, and various type of intellectual property.

Brittany Ferraro

bferraro@fsu.edu

9/30/2020
2:00 - 4:00 pm

ESP16

Open Access, Data Management and Grants Compliance      

Covers the services and initiatives FSU Libraries offer to support these areas of growth, and provides some examples using the NIH Public Access Policy. This course is a pre-requisite for ESP17.

Nicholas Ruhs,
Jessie Klein

nruhs@fsu.edu
jrk06e@fsu.edu
10/21/2020 3:00 - 4:30 pm
ESP17

Best Practices & Resources for Data Management

 As more federal agencies make data management plans a required part of grant application, researchers are left with questions on how to fulfill these new requirements. This workshop will explore tools and services related to assisting researchers in writing data management plans for grant application. ESP16 is a pre-requisite for this course

Nicholas Ruhs, Jessie Klein nruhs@fsu.edu
jrk06e@fsu.edu
11/4/2020 3:00 - 4:30 pm
ESP18

FSURF Business Practices and Procedures

An overview of the business practices and procedures for Research Foundation projects will be reviewed in this session.

Tracie Blackwood,
Jenny Bucior

tblackwood@fsu.edu
jbucior@fsu.edu

12/10/2020
2:00 - 4:00 pm

ESP19

Tuition Waivers and Projects

An overview of how tuition is charged to sponsored projects for graduate students working on awards.

Ashley Jarvis,
Brian Barton

a.jarvis@fsu.edu
bbarton@admin.fsu.edu

11/18/2020
2:30 - 4:00 pm

ESP20

National Institutes of Health / NIH

Provides detailed insight into NIH which will include types of grants issued, Public Health Service Financial Conflict of Interest, budgets, applications, eRA Commons and awards.

Susan Fell,
Kris Gaskins

sfell@fsu.edu, kgaskins@fsu.edu

10/7/2020
2:30 - 4:30 pm

ESP21

National Science Foundation / NSF

This session will provide detailed insight into NSF which will include types of grants issued, Fastlane, proposal requirements, revised budgets, award term and conditions, etc.

Rose Driber,
Kris Gaskins

rdriber@fsu.edu, kgaskins@fsu.edu

9/29/2020
2:30 - 4:30 pm

ESP22

State of Florida Agencies

Focuses on the proposal submission processes, terms and conditions, budgetary and programmatic amendments to State of Florida sponsored awards.

James Dufoe,
Kris Gaskins

jdufoe@fsu.edu, kgaskins@fsu.edu

11/19/2020
2:30 - 4:30 pm