Skip to main content

ACUC Membership

The roles, responsibilities and composition of the FSU Animal Care and Use Committee (ACUC) are defined by both the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Animal Welfare Act and Regulations and the Public Health Service on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals.  Individuals appointed as ACUC members must either have or receive training to assess the University’s animal use program, animal housing and procedure spaces and proposed teaching and research activities involving animals.

University President Richard McCullough has given Dr. Stacey Patterson, Vice President for Research (VPR) and Institutional Official, specific written authority to appoint ACUC members. Committee members include veterinarians with training and experience in laboratory animal science and medicine, practicing scientists experienced in research involving animals, a non-scientist, and an individual who is not affiliated with the institution in any way other than as a member of the ACUC.  The University Biosafety Officer and legal counsel from the Office of the Vice President for Research serve as non-voting committee members.  The ACUC reports to Dr. Patterson.

ACUC members are formally appointed to an initial two-year term by the VPR for Research, which is renewable by the VPR for another two-year term, for a maximum of two consecutive terms or four years total.  Members may be appointed to a third term at the discretion of the VPR due to extenuating circumstances as determined by the VPR. 

ACUC chairs are formally appointed, at the discretion of the VPR, to a renewable two-year term.  Each chair should be rotated after two terms to allow the vice chair to assume the role of chair. 

Key ACUC Contacts:

Dr. Stacey Patterson - Institutional Official and Vice President for Research
Dr. Frank Johnson - ACUC Chair
Dr. William Hill - Attending Veterinarian